Channel Insider content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

17 IT Cloud Certification Programs Worth the Cash

Channel partners and IT pros looking to cash in on the cloud computing craze may want to start their quest in the classroom. The following seven technology certifications offer a great way to prove one’s mettle in cloud-related skills such as virtualization, architecture and utility computing.

23Tera Certified Cloud Architect

Certificate holders prove among several concepts that they’ve learned the architectural concepts of the AppLogic cloud computing platform and step-by-step procedures for deploying, operating and managing applications in the cloud.

3VMWare Virtualization Certified Professional

The VCP validates a high level of proficiency in implementing and managing virtualization technology&#151an essential component to developing effective cloud environments.

4Cisco Certified Design Expert

CCDE certification shows that the holder understands advanced network infrastructure design principles and fundamentals for large networks. This is another fundamental component to planning, designing and deploying cloud environments for customers.

5IBM Certified Solution Advisor&#151Cloud Computing Architecture V1

This certificate shows that the person that earned it will be able to explain cloud computing concepts, tell the customer how the cloud can benefit their environment, identify cloud architecture and design principles and map customer requirements to the IBM Software Cloud Computing offerings.

6Licensed ZapThink Architect

The LZA designation shows that holders can demonstrate proficiency in the service-oriented architecture principles that are at the root of most cloud computing designs. The LZA SOA training is vendor-neutral, focusing instead on SOA principles rather than specific solution sets.

7Open Group IT Architect Certification

The Open Group’s ITAC designation proves that the holder comprehends how to design based upon The Open Group Architecture Framework (TOGAF), for which its version nine offers an architecture development method for SOA and cloud computing.

8Red Hat Premier Cloud Provider Certification

Red Hat’s cloud designation shows that a partner has the technical expertise to collaborate with Red Hat to provide customers cloud solutions, both in building virtualized internal infrastructure systems and extending their applications into clouds.