Channel Insider content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

1Top Seven IT Security Certifications

The transition to the cloud has had a profound impact on the top security certifications.

2Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist

The Cisco Cybersecurity Specialist certification recognizes security professionals who have specialized expertise and knowledge in proactive cyber-threat detection and mitigation. Certification focuses on event monitoring; security event, alarm and traffic analysis; and incident response.

3CompTIA Security+

CompTIA’s Security+ certification is recognized in the global IT industry as a certification that shows networking professionals are knowledgeable in network security and managing risk. This certification covers mobile security and bring-your-own-device (BYOD) practices, cloud computing, risk mitigation, as well as authentication, authorization and access control.

4CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)

The CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP) certification designates IT professionals with advanced security skills and knowledge required to implement secure solutions across complex enterprise environments, while managing risk.

5EMC RSA Security Analytics

Technology professionals receive the knowledge and skills to deploy and maintain reliable enterprise security systems as part of the RSA Certified Security Professional Program. Certifications are currently offered for RSA Archer, RSA Security Analytics and RSA Authentication Manager.

6ISACA Certified in Risk and Information Systems Control (CRISC)

ISACA’s CRISC certification prepares IT professionals for the challenges of IT and enterprise risk management, covering information systems (IS) controls for design, implementation, monitoring and maintenance. CRISC certification holders are among the highest paid IT professionals.

7ISACA Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)

The ISACA Certified Information Security Manager certification demonstrates expertise in information security management for technology professionals who design, manage and assess an enterprise’s information security.

8(ISC)² Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

The (ISC)2 CISSP certification is designed for networking professionals dealing with access control and network security. The program covers security topics such as risk management, cloud computing, mobile security and application development security.