Channel Insider content and product recommendations are editorially independent. We may make money when you click on links to our partners. Learn More.

Networking certifications

1 - Top Networking Certifications: Changing With the TimesTop IT Certifications: From Networking to Security

Here’s a look at 10 major IT certifications and how they address new technology and market needs in cloud computing, networking, security and project management.

2 - Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)

TheĀ (ISC)2 CISSPĀ certificationā€”which covers risk management, the cloud, mobile security and application development securityā€”meets the requirements of ISO/IEC Standard 17024. Relevant job positions: security consultant, security manager, IT director/manager, security auditor, security architect, security analyst, security systems engineer, chief information security office, director of security and network architect.

3 - Cisco CCNA Routing & SwitchingCisco CCNA Routing & Switching

The Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching certification is aimed at preparing core network engineers with knowledge of foundational technology and the skills for next-generation technologies. The program covers the installation, monitoring and troubleshooting of network infrastructures. Relevant jobs: network engineer as well as applications in specialty areas such as the cloud, collaboration, the data center, network programmability, wireless and security.

4 - CompTIA A+CompTIA A+

TheĀ CompTIA A+ certificationĀ is vendor-neutral and is designed to provide the basics of common hardware and software technologies used in business. It validates foundational skills in troubleshooting, networking and security across a variety of devices. Relevant jobs: technical support specialist, field service technician, IT support technician and IT support administrator.

5 - CompTIA Network+CompTIA Network+

TheĀ CompTIA Network+Ā vendor-neutral certification is focused on knowledge and skills for designing, configuring, managing and troubleshooting any wired or wireless networks. The certification covers the configuration, management and troubleshooting of common wired and wireless network devices. It also includes emerging technologies, such as unified communications, mobile, cloud and virtualization technologies. Relevant jobs: network administrator, network field technician/engineer, network support specialist, help desk technician and network analyst.

6 - CompTIA Security+CompTIA Security+

CompTIA’s Security+ focuses on network security, compliance and operation security, threats and vulnerabilities as well as application, data and host security. This certification also covers access control, identity management and cryptography. Relevant jobs: security specialist/administrator, security consultant, security or systems administrator and network administrator.

7 - ITIL FoundationITIL Foundation

The ITIL Foundation offers an entry-level certification, providing key elements, concepts and terminology used in the ITIL framework. This includes the processes used and contribution to service management practices. Relevant jobs: IT professionals and others who work at companies that have adopted ITIL and are involved with ongoing service improvement.

8 - MCSA: Windows Server 2012/2016MCSA: Windows Server 2012/2016

MCSA: Windows Server 2012/2016 certifications show professionals’ knowledge of the primary set of Windows Server 2012/2016 skills. It’s the first step to become a Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE). Relevant jobs: network or computer systems administrator, and computer network specialist.

9 - Project Management ProfessionalProject Management Professional

Project Management Professional (PMP) is an industry-recognized certification for project managers. The PMP credential demonstrates project management skills to bring projects to a successful completion. Relevant jobs: project manager.

10 - Red Hat Certified System AdministratorRed Hat Certified System Administrator

A Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) certification demonstrates the ability to perform the core system administration skills required in Red Hat Enterprise Linux environments. These range from understanding and using tools for handling files, directories, command-line environments and documentation to managing security, including basic firewall and SELinux configuration. Relevant jobs: Linux system administrators.

11 - VMware Certified Professionalā€“Data Center Virtualization (VCP-DCV)VMware Certified Professionalā€“Data Center Virtualization (VCP-DCV)

Aimed at growing demand for IT professionals with data center virtualization skills, the VMware Certified Professionalā€“Data Center Virtualization (VCP-DCV) certification validates your technical capabilities to install, deploy, scale and manage VMware vSphere environments. Relevant jobs: IT professionals who support the virtual environment.