10 Networking Certifications the Channel Should Know About

  • By

    Gina Roos

    | Posted 2010-05-18
  • Email

Updated Sept. 30, 2014: The IT industry's transition from physical networking to software-defined networking for enterprise networks has created a demand for IT professionals with both open-source and vendor-specific experience. As a result, certifications must change to reflect these changes. "For example, Cisco and Red Hat recently announced a collaborative development effort to create an application-centric infrastructure integrated with the Red Hat Enterprise Linux OpenStack Platform. Until the announcement, Cisco appeared to be moving toward a proprietary cloud solution. Cisco's change in strategy shows the importance of IT professionals having both vendor-specific and open-source skills," said Patrick Lane, technology and education consultant. This transition also adds the challenges of the cloud, big data, mobile wireless technology and bring-your-own-device (BYOD) practices. Here's a look at 10 major networking certifications, listed alphabetically. (Editor's Note: With input from Patrick Lane, Channel Insider contributor Gina Roos updated this slide show, originally written by Chris Talbot and first posted May 18, 2010.)

Top 10 networking certifications

Certification requirements continue to evolve as the networking world changes. Having both open-source and vendor-specific skills is crucial.

Top 10 networking certifications

Submit a Comment

Loading Comments...

Thanks for your registration, follow us on our social networks to keep up-to-date